Life without meetings

I today spent an exceptionally long time at my computer and at a desk, around four hours. These days, working remotely means I really do work remotely – from a park, on the balcony, while walking, or from a cafe.

A year ago, my days frequently included 14-hour work days, 6-9 of which were spent in meetings – internal meetings. I was happy if I could squeeze in a quick sandwich and coffee during some meeting, and run late for some other meeting because I simply had to pee.

As you can imagine, my quality of life has increased exponentially. As has my feeling of freedom (physical, mental, and what I can say – publicly but also as a private person). And equally importantly, I feel like I am getting things done that are important to me.

Most of our work is still evaluated on the basis of our organization (brand), position (status), presence (irreplaceability/loyalty), and working hours (importance/reachability).

Yes, I too have felt proud working for some big-shot organisations. It has felt good to feel needed, in all of these meetings.

And at the same time I have felt utterly torn. The brand hasn‘t often matched reality, and all of those meetings – what were they actually for? As the disconnect between these two conflicting feelings has grown, so has my inner discomfort.

What has this all been for? What have I achieved? What have I contributed? What good have I done? And the more I‘ve raised this issue with colleagues, the more I‘ve realized these feelings have been very common.

I have sincerely loved working with many people in my work places and roles, both internally and in partner organizations. And there have been some great meetings too. Relationships have been mended, people have been convinced, creative ideas have been born, and real collaboration and constructive debates have taken place.

But 95% of the time, meetings have been an utter waste of time. And every single person, even the convener of the meeting, has known it. Some meetings have been so painful that there has been collective whatsapping to keep things sane.

The great thing about today – with my four hours of desk time – was that this was completely voluntary. I had a few interviews for a project I am working on, and had decided to listen in and participate in a webinar and social media chat. I could have done all of this from anywhere, and aside from the interviews could have just not.

I may one day again be in a job with 14-hour working days and all of those internal meetings. Who knows. But if it‘s up to me, this is the way working life should be.

Leave a comment